Does it still count as sympathy weight gain?

Many people told me that during the nine months Megan was pregnant, it would be OK if I gained a little weight myself in sympathy.

I may have gained some, but it wasn’t too bad, with training to race at JingleCross in late November and then just trying to survive the holiday feasts that were to come.

But now that Keira has arrived, I think I’m feeling a bit more plump.

I’m pretty sure a lot of it has to do with the fact that it’s pretty tough to get away from taking care of Keira to get some exercise on my own. That and the stress of learning how to take care of a newborn leads to a lot of comfort-food cravings.

We also have gotten a lot of food from my parents when they’ve visited us; literally buckets of fried rice and noodles so that we didn’t have to worry about making meals for a while. I’m very appreciative of the help, but this isn’t exactly super-nutritious stuff.

My work schedule hasn’t been conducive to fitting in exercise either. I’m working 10-hour days, usually starting at 11 a.m. Couple that with an hourlong commute each way and that’s 12 hours I’m gone from home. There isn’t not much time to fit in any exercise there unless I want to do it at night (too tired) or in the morning (gotta help with Keira so poor Megan can get some rest, as she handles most of the overnight duties).

On the days I’ve had off, we’ve been able to take turns watching Keira so that the other person can get out for some fresh air and exercise. Megan’s been able to get out and walk again after not being able to do so for about the last four months of pregnancy, while I’ve been able to get out for some runs and bike rides. (Megan’s mom also has helped free us up to do some outings.)

For the time being, I’m trying to manage what and how much I’m eating, with minor success, but I know I get a lot more inspired to eat healthily when I can also be very active. And I’m very excited for Keira to be old enough that we can take her out on walks in her stroller, which should be in the next few weeks. Being able to leave our house together for family walks sounds so fun, especially with the warm weather finally arriving!

And in a few months, probably this fall, we’ll get to expand it to family bike rides! I’m already starting to compare child trailers for bikes. (Anyone have suggestions?) 

So I know better days are ahead, both with getting more exercise in and with getting used to life with a child. Until then, please pass the macaroni and cheese, but hopefully not too much.

~ by davidllee on March 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
